Before Sunrise

Category  –  Romantic drama ;  Rating – 4.5 ;  Comment  –  Excellent Script!

It was a week day and the heaviest day at work….Thursday evenings are packed with weekly calls!  Normally the calls start at 3 pm and then go on till 9.30 pm with few breaks in-between!  And the breaks are filled in with last minute discussions before a call or analyzing the inputs which came on the call.  Family understands that I am indeed occupied on Thursday evenings!  By and large, they have their own activities on Thursday evenings!

But this week, thought it is a working day in India, it is almost shutdown in USA!   Suddenly I saw my calendar was empty  –  all calls were cancelled  due to Thanksgiving holiday!  After 6 pm, i really did not have much to close and by 7 pm, I did not know what to do!!  Very strange feeling  –  while there were lot of things to handle at personal front, for whatever reason, I only felt that I did not have much to do  –  I hardly handle any personal stuff during weekdays and store them for weekends and probably that is why!……

So, there I was… back at home, in the living room and it is only 7 pm  – family is  not going to be in for dinner till 9 pm (that is our regular Thursday schedule).  so, default, i start surfing the TV channels  –   up once, down once……..nothing seem to be interesting and then i suddenly see this scene  –  a man and a woman walking through a cemetery  – something made me stop and watch it …probably the girls face (devoid of any heavy makeup) or the casual air around the guy  –  i still do not know why i stopped there and started watching  –

The first piece of dialogue i heard was “ I always liked the idea of all those unknown people lost in the world. When I was a little girl, I thought that if none of your family or friends knew you were dead, then it‘s like not really being dead. People can invent the best and the worst for you”  The way it was rendered…the perspective it threw about being dead  – something different. 

I got interested  and I find it is a movie called “Before Sunrise”  –   I continued to watch and was completely engrossed till the end!.  Yes, ofcourse! it is a romantic movie  at the outset (no, no, i never planned to watch it……though i like romantic comedies a lot, i did not know this one will turn up to be a romantic movie)  –   You can classify it as romantic drama, but the script and some quotes were unbelievably refreshing  – especially the discussion about men and women…the thought that feminism was invented by men to have more fun!!  haha!!!!…………99 men & 1 woman Vs 1 man  & 99 women…intelligent sparks of wisdom!……….

I am so impressed with the entire script and may end up writing the whole script in this post………..but then, allow me to quote the following  – which is so nicely put!   …………

“You know, I believe if there’s any kind of God, it wouldn’t be in any of us. Not you, or me…but just this little space in between. If there’s any kind of magic in this world, it must be in the attempt of understanding someone, sharing something. (Sigh.) I know, it‘s almost impossible to succeed, but…who cares, really? The answer must be in the attempt”

Ideally, i recommend watching the movie and also the reading the entire script  –  it is available here…………

And later, i found this movie is rated as one of the best movies in many reviews!!   Worth it!!

Posted on November 27, 2010, in Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

