Who Moved My Cheese? – Spencer Johnson

Imp Note-I found a free ebook link for this book on the web, which i have linked to the image above.  So, if you want to read this book online, click on the image above.

Short notes & good quotes

When I finished reading this book, I was disappointed.  I have heard so much about this book from my acquaintances from various circles (professional, personal, social) and most of it was high ratings.  When I actually started on this book, probably my expectations were too high, higher than what my acquaintances were actually trying to portray. It may be one of the classic communication challenges  –  where the noise gets amplified  – just that in this case, my expectation about the book got amplified so much  based on the earlier feedback from others.

Overall, the cheese story and the characters – two little rats (Sniff and Scurry) and the two little people (Hem and Haw) is a simple story which  also makes a feasible bed time story for kids.

 The book has many quotes on change management (listed for reference here), but if you ask me about the topmost takeaway from this book, for which I will remember this book is

WHAT WOULD YOU DO IF YOU WEREN’T AFRAID?

This is an excellent question which I think I will be asking myself whenever I am taking a decision in whatever circumstances – be it personal or professional. 

The other worth mentioning quotes on change management (substitute cheese  with what we want to have in life)

  • Having Cheese makes you happy
  • The more important cheese is to you, the more you want to hold on to it
  • If you do not change, you can become Extinct
  • What would you do if you weren’t afraid?
  • Smell the cheese often so you would know when it is getting old
  • Movement in a new direction helps you find new cheese
  • When you stop being afraid, you feel good
  • Imagining yourself enjoying new cheese , leads you to it
  • The quicker you let go of old cheese, the sooner you find new cheese
  • It is safer to search in a maze, than remain in a cheese less situation
  • OId beliefs do not lead you to new cheese
  • When you see that you can find and enjoy new cheese you change course
  • Noticing small changes early helps you adapt to bigger changes that are to come
  • Change happens
  • Anticipate Change
  • Monitor Change
  • Adapt to Change quickly
  • Change
  • Enjoy Change
  • Be ready to change quickly and enjoy it again and again
Posted on February 8, 2011, in Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

