Life and Learning Series – LLS

When you are parenting a teenager and also when you are handling a critical team at work with senior people and also when you are handling your aged parents and also when you are running your household..……………you know you are old…  🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 …..hey, wait!!!  I am beyond establishing that I am growing old…..I am trying to establish that we also pass through many experiences in life over these growing years!!!

Every day, when I go through the daily chores at work and at home – I learn …..And it struck me that it may be a good idea to consolidate and put them together.  While it will help to save my grey cells (when you get old, your grey cells lose capacity?), I also felt it may be a good thing to share with others so that they can pick one or two which suits them.

Motivated by the lack of simple and easy to follow guidelines, I am creating this series for all those who are starting to look for some simple directions in life.  I will share information about my experience.  We all know that life has its complexities and this is my bit to make it easy……….

It all started since last two years (probably coincides with my blogging effort?!!) –  I introspect a lot ….

The first simple question is   – WHAT DO I WANT IN LIFE?

While the question is too simple, take few minutes and think and write down the answer…..it may even seem simple initially to answer this question (unless you are like me, who gets different answers with each new day!) ……  slowly, check if

HOW MUCH OF MY DAILY TIME GOES IN THE EFFORT TO GET WHAT I WANT IN LIFE

This will make us go back to the first question again and you may feel tempted to change the answer to the first question (see, I have reasons on why I change my answer to question #1).

It is actually good to go through multiple iterations of this, as long as the multiple iterations take you much closer to the real answer to the question of WHAT DO I WANT IN LIFE.

I feel I have done multiple iterations and I feel I have figured out something on the answer to WHAT DO I WANT IN LIFE.  At a gross level, I find my life completely revolves around 5 key factors

  1. SELF –   Focus on my self  –  inclusive of my physical, mental and spiritual well being
  2. FAMILY, Friends and Life –  A lot of my life goes around family and friends and that becomes the second key factor in my life
  3. CAREER  –  Yes, there had been a time where I only thought of career…I even used career as an escape to face real life –  and now, life has taught me the criticality of balancing the critical factors in life –  I still view career as a critical part of my life
  4. PERSONAL INTERESTS –  May sound out of sync  –  you may wonder on how personal interests (read it as leisure activities, hobbies) become key factor of life…crazy!!!  I strongly believe that the time I spent on my personal interests makes me complete –  It was a refreshing surprise to me on how much a trek or a music class or blogging helps me ……and indeed, it is a critical factor
  5. SOCIETY@LARGE  –  these have been more of thoughts and less of action, but I know for sure this is a critical factor in my life –  I am slowly starting on few contributions in this space and I will make it.

When I looked at all my FABULOUS FIVE factors of my life, I knew that there is something more which needs to be put in to take care of the fabulous five and that ofcourse is the FINANCIAL WALL   –  the wall around the five key factors will help me keep my five critical factors intact.

Given that I am more of a visual person, here is my life model

Please note that this is a current version and there are very high possibilities that this may go through iterations in the coming days.

Going forward, I will share my life’s learning against each of these five critical factors and link it back here….Happy reading and learning!

Posted on April 20, 2011, in Life and Learning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. thoughtraker

    Nice!
    Have you read 7 Habits by Covey? If you haven’t, then I do recommend it.

  2. Good way of telling, and pleasant piece of writing to get facts on the topic
    of my presentation topic, which i am going to convey in college.

  1. Pingback: LLS – More on life! « I … reach!!

  2. Pingback: It’s My Life…. (Now or Never) « Learning To Live!

  3. Pingback: LLS – Self – Health – Green Tea « I … reach!!

  4. Pingback: How to get RICH and RETIRE early | I ... reach!!

  5. Pingback: Simply Zen! | I ... reach!!

Leave a Reply

