Cricket lessons – for leadership

I am so close to be qualified as an atheist if you consider cricket as an Indian religion.  I watch cricket for the sake of news because every other Indian guy follows cricket  –  after the IPL era, cricketers have become equal to movie stars  –  figuring in page 3 gossip columns and endorsing all possible FMCG products.

I should say I showed a little more interest in cricket (still continuing to be an atheist, though) in the past few years, especially after my little one’s initiative to induct me into the cricket religion –  I even witnessed IPL matches in the Chinnaswamy stadium (more of a family outing?!  I also wore a red dress to support the RCB!) and started following the schedules  – more to ensure the little one’s morning schedules to school are protected from watching late night matches!  Often spotting Kumble and Dravid at school was another dimension.

I think this background is enough to establish my level of interest in cricket…………..

Couple of weeks back, on one of those occasional thinking aloud sessions (sometimes i just talk what is going in my mind), I said that to compensate for my missed walking sessions, I should be doing some alternate physical activity………listening to this, my little one suggested that I play cricket with him  at home  –   oh, the home cricket is more of a batting practice session where he keeps hitting a ball which is tied on a rope from the roof…. –  when I said I do not know cricket, he also very enthusiastically offered to teach me.  the only condition is that I will be assessed regularly on my cricketing skills.   I agreed.

My first class was couple of days back –  I was in  for a surprise on the technical stuff which an 8-year-old can churn out  about cricket –  it started with a lesson to me that cricket first needs INTEREST .   Then came the importance to AIM,  POWER with which to hit the ball, PLACEMENT, TIMING, CONCENTRATION, how to STRATEGIZE (I could only gape!!), REACTION, SHOTS LEG SIDE, SHOTS OFF SIDE.  And there were tips  –  to remember leg side is your left side, think that both starts with “L”, and the off side is other side and they both start with “O”.  I was given all types of balls and all types of instructions  –   “spin, googly……”  ” hit on the leg side, assume there are three fielders in the slip, etc………etc……..”.   After half an hour of intense coaching, we finished the class.

Being a long weekend, we were at home yesterday enjoying the lazy Bangalore weather………..and suddenly the little one announces the test   –   first sem first exam –  on what i was coached in cricket.   It was a 15 minute session and I was tested in what I was taught and then graded…………see the grading paper (ignore the spelling mistakes!).   I was thrilled that I got a lot of As in my grade sheet………..but my little one responded……..”You have to improve.  this is a preliminary test and you should get all A+”…….

I was mulling over this and was surprised that these exactly are the leadership qualities which are required in any individual!!!  My scores in the sheet here replicated below for clarity

SEM 1, EX 1  (read as semester 1, exam 1)

Interest B , Aim A+, Power A+, Placement A, Timing A, concentration A, leaving balls A, reaction A, shots leg side A, shots offside C.

So, how do you think i fared??!!!!    🙂 🙂 🙂

Posted on November 8, 2011, in Family and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

