Wall of Cricket – Humble and being Rahul Dravid

When I found that many are cutting short the three-day conference to two days and getting back home earlier, I was upset  ..  Upset because I prioritized the third day at the conference over my little one’s annual music day at school.   I still could have done a replanning  –   aversion to last-minute replanning,  late nights at airports and to some extent my laziness overtook (I also had an iota of sincerity quotient towards participating in the conference) –  I decided to continue on the thrid day.

It was still haunting to remember that expectant voice and little face  “amma, can you come on Friday morning atleast for the music day?”.  I decided I need to give my little one something which will to some extent compensate my absence. It struck me then that I can take something which is unique  –  an autography from his favorite cricketer Rahul Dravid –  it is almost two years since the little one got Dravid’s autograph on a two-inch paper and I was impressed by this cricketer.  Rahul exhibited that he is a true hero  –  read the detail here.

So, I had updated my colleagues that I am going to manage to get Rahul Dravid’s autograph during the valedictory session on the third day  – while I was extremely aware that it is a formal forum and I may look a bit out-of-place asking for his autograph, I was encouraged by my desire to compensate my absence on my little one’s school day back at home  –  ofcourse, there were other colleagues who really were fans of Dravid’s cricket skills unlike me who were also planning to take a picture or an autograph from him

I literally grabbed the opportunity when Rahul was waiting at the first row corner to get into the stage  –  I dashed to him with a notebook and pen and showed this notebook telling in a low voice that it is for my son and his name his karthik  –  I saw a momentary shock on his face and also probably some irritation (when he is focussing to get to the stage in an official forum, sure he did not expect this!)  –  that was just momentary  –  he took the pen, wrote my son’s name and gave his autograph.  A minute and it was all done  –  true hero obliging to his fan’s request.

To Karthik - Best wishes - Rahul Dravid

To Karthik – Best wishes – Rahul Dravid

His session started and I was once again in for surprise –  his humble nature and the ability to laugh at himself were quickly taking up the audience by fire.  While you can watch the video here 

Few quotes which captured my attention are

  • Aggression is a mind thing
  • Stay at the cocoon of the moment and do it again and again and again – ability to put your mind to the moment needs skill
  • Cricket somehow brings you down to the earth – all of us are hardwired to deal with failure
  • Emotional energy which is lost due to failure is very important to deal and then get back
  • Coming  second  to Sachin or Laxman is NOT such a bad thing. Coming second to someone mediocre is something bad
  • Few things I ticked before a match – : physical fitness, technical capability, mental routines, and emotional energy
  • Great teams are built on great bowling attacks
  • If u got the bowler’s angry, then u r closer to winning – anger takes away focus

My surprise indeed continued when i saw him in the same flight back home  –  in the economy section, two seats in front of me…again being that same humble, polite, wanting to establish that feeling of “I am one among all of you!” –  still accommodating the fans who were asking for an autograph or a picture with him –  through the flight, on the ground near the baggage collection area  –  ofcourse, I was satisfied with the elaborate autograph for the little one which I got in the evening!!

Once again, it was witnessing the real hero  –  is it just being humble OR is it being Rahul Dravid  –  looks like it is Humble and being Rahul Dravid!!

Posted on February 17, 2013, in Celebrities and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. What a lovely story! It must be hard, at times, to handle fame with grace. He must be a very nice man.

  2. I am great fan of Rahul dravid….😃😃😃

Leave a Reply

