Zoo movies – Annai or aalayam (#atozapril 2013 challenge)

The last alphabet Z is for Zoo in Tossing it out –  the last one on the A to Z April 2013 challenge!!   I want to taken a moment and think through on what happened in the month of April and how i chance hit on the atoz challenge  –   while i decided to write about Indian regional movies on the same topic selected by Arlee on his blog, I was unaware of how much of fun and challenge it is to get this done!!  Thanks to the team who initiated this challenge and specifically to Arlee!

While there are many movies around animals and some scenes on zoo, this movie called Annai or aalayam is evergreen in my memory.   This is a 1979 Tamil regional movie which was a family drama with typical mother sentiments around an orphaned elephant.  The little elephant and its naughty actions were a great attraction for me at that time –  i remember pestering my parents to go and watch this movie the second time in the movie hall –  which in those days is a real luxury.  The hero (who is a hunter) ensures that the little elephant is united with its mother at the end of the movie and the entire movie revolves around the little elephant.  One specific song sequence where the little elephant equally dances with the hero/heroine is something very interesting.

 

Posted on May 1, 2013, in Movies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thank you for the movie suggestions and congratulations on your 10 year milestone. That is quite an accomplishment.

    • Happy you liked it. I am very impressed on the efforts you have put to convey your thoughts in your blog. It is very heartening when i read “We all have something left to give” in your latest post. I will continue to visit and read and enrich myself.

  2. Having read this I thought it was rather enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this short article
    together. I once again find myself personally spending a
    significant amount of time both reading and leaving comments.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

  3. If you would like to grow your knowledge simply keep visiting this website and be updated with the most up-to-date news posted here.

  4. Hello would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking
    for something unique. P.S My apologies for getting off-topic
    but I had to ask!

  5. Awesome blog you have here but I was wanting to
    know if you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics talked
    about in this article? I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get opinions from other experienced individuals that
    share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

