Quiet films (#atozapril 2013 challenge) – Uthiripookal

Quiet films are not silent films as defined by Tossing it out  –  they are films where there is less dialogue and more introspection.  Letter Q in AtoZ challenge.

In general, Indian movies have lot of dance sequences,stunt scenes and loud arguments and lots of dialogues (are Indians the most expressive community among the world !!).  It was in the late seventies and early eighties, there were new experiments in the movie making industry  –   one of them is using lesser dialogues.

Uthiripookal  is one of the movies which made an impact on me –  It is a 1979 movie, directed by Mahendran, who is considered as one of the pioneering directors of south Indian cinema.   I like more of easy romcoms  –   so, i will not add this movie into my favorite movies.   This movie left me disturbed, left me thinking on the need for a society which acknowledges that mental state of balance is equally important as physical health  and to be treated.  Many of the folks who influx terror on others, hurt others are those who need that support. 

The hero of uthiripookal is a sadist who gives a hard time to his immediate family (wife & Children) and also to his colleagues.  AFter losing his wife and going through a traumatic experience by himself, he realizes his faults  –  by the time the damage is done and his children are orphaned. This movie had minimal dialogues and left people with lot of introspections!  Maniratnam, one of the successful regional directors always has less dialogues in his movies.  He considers Mahendran as a role model and a

Being Quiet is a virtue  –  While I am in general a quiet person, there are aberrations in my style when I have that right company (aliens under cover) at the right place.!

Posted on April 20, 2013, in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. My mom and I used to watch ‘quiet’ films when I was younger. Loved them … indeed lots more introspection, and that’s fine with me.
    Great post.

    Silvia @ Silvia Writes

Leave a comment