Intentions and Actions

I continue to have this challenge  –  converting my good intentions to actions!   While it can be called as procrastination, i know it is more of my habit to get carried away by my  ‘ doing bigger things in life’  and ignoring the small immediate actions.   I came across this tweet this morning  TTrangarajan says “Intentions are nothing unless backed by actions. God will judge your intention, while man will only judge your actions”

While i was mulling over it through the day, I saw this  in my inbox from Indiblogger promoting the school meal program.  My first reaction was  –  “ok, one more mass philanthropy movement and a good marketing idea!”.   I honestly did not think much when i read it  –  but then, when i saw the details that one blog post will end up feeding 50 children, it struck to me why not i also write about it… –   So here I am making my little effort by willfully getting over my “doing big things” attitude…

Akshaya Patra Foundation was inspired by one of the ISKON gurus (while I am not much of a knowledgeable person when it comes to religious organizations like ISKON, I sure know that the ISKON temple in Bangalore is a must visit for his architectural beauty).  They started ten years back as an independent movement, but later gathered momentum in 2003 with the support of Ministry of Human Resources Development, India.

Today, they feed around 1.2 million children everyday  – what is unique about the whole program is the vision of the program  –  the program is just not a simple focus on feeding hungry children, but the vision is to “No child in India shall be deprived of education because of hunger.”

What is surprising is that for feeding one child for the entire school year it costs only  Rs.525 (approx $11.2)      .  You can donate online also here   –  Akshaya Patra donations.

Let me close my day with a satisfaction of doing a small deed!

Posted on December 14, 2010, in Assorted and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. very immaculately written.for a noble cause.

  2. GREAT INFORMATIVE POST.

  3. “I continue to have this challenge – converting my good intentions to actions!” ~~Inspirational! Liked your post… 🙂

  4. Hi,
    Thanks for Supporting Akshaya Patra Foundation for a Cause.
    My name is Rupom and I’m getting in touch with you regarding hosting the banner or link of “The Akshaya Patra Foundation”. I’m currently working with this Foundation as a SEO Executive.
    Akshaya Patra Foundation is an Non Profit Organization in Bangalore Providing Mid day Meal for School Children.

    It will be a great pleasure if you update the new banner of our website and write a few points on Akshaya Patra Foundation and also share your thoughts to all your friends to support Akshaya Patra Foundation and ask them to place our customized banner in their websites.
    Please let me know if you are interested I can provided the customized banner or link code for whatever sizes is required for your website(s).

    Thanks & Regards,
    Rupom Roy
    SEO Executive -Online Presence
    The Akshaya Patra Foundation
    Email ids: rupom.roy@akshayapatra.org

Leave a comment